Breakthrough

I keep reliving the memory in my mind
Over and over, until it can’t hurt me
Until all emotions have spent
and all that’s left of it
Is narration of a moment in our life
A memory to be soon forgotten.

I keep the shields of my heart up
And maintain them, religiously
Man them quite zealously
So that all that gets in are
Feelings of no consequence.
Feelings of no importance.

I keep a watch at the door of my soul
For once without an arrow and bow
My arms are weary from their weight
There’s only so much you can take
Before it overwhelms you, claims you
And you’re left
With unforgettable memories And consequential feelings.

Leave a Reply

