Once

Once a friend

Asked me

Why I am

Always happy,

While in reality,

At that moment

I was sad.

But like a clown

I painted on

A smile,

And acted like

I was perpetually glad.

Once a friend

Called me

Eternal sunshine

Even on a day

When the clouds

Are gray.

Little did he realize

That the sunshine

Doesn’t last

With the sunset

It goes away.

Once a friend

Called me

A free bird.

And I told him,

“Free birds fly away.”

He laughed

And said,

“Not this one. ”

And I thought,

Wistfully,

“Maybe one day.”

 

Leave a Reply

