The Road

We had infinite paths
To take
And you took the one
Most traveled by
While I waited
At the crossroads.

I have been there,
Content in trotting
Where thousands
Before us
Have left their marks.

But now I am weary
Of the worn out streets
With its upturned rocks
And explored nooks.
I want to find a path
That only we know.

I want a road to explore,
To find the mysteries
Of each fork,
To turn every rock
One by one
By ourselves.

I want to hide
In the nooks
And have you find me
Just because.

But here I stand,
At the crossroads
Looking at the road
You have chosen
And realize,
Some paths can
Only be traveled
When you’re ready.

And I am ready now,
To travel alone.

Leave a Reply

